RAFIY OKEFOLAHAN

Born in 1979 in Porto-Novo in Benin, Rafiy Okefolahan first trained with Beninese artists, then he trained at the National School of Arts in Dakar. A multidisciplinary and almost self-taught artist, he creates paintings, drawings, and installations. Color is for him a means of expression. His works are rooted in reality and often linked to current events. His work also feeds on his interventions in schools.

Partition of shapes and colors, his paintings are populated with faces, symbols, and signs expressing "the noise of the world". He tries through them to fight oblivion and to heal wounds. A committed artist, he tackles socio-economic and identity issues such as the issue of population displacement, inequality, and corruption through art. His works mix various materials such as coffee grounds or rust, borrowed from the voodoo tradition, raw pigments, Indian ink, and oil paint. The power of the color and the relief of the fabrics create an intense aesthetic in order to restore a central place to the human.

 

Attaching particular importance to the dialogue of disciplines, he has also collaborated with contemporary dancers in the context of various events such as the Dakar Biennale, the Vaudou Festival in Strasbourg and at the Cité Internationale des Arts. In recent years his work has been moving towards installation, in order to work with color in 3 dimensions. This reflection has inhabited him for many years, he notably produced installations at the Center (Benin) in 2015 and in Dakar, during the Off of the Biennale in 2008. Installation or painting, his artistic research remains that of a humanist colorist.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif

RAFIY OKEFOLAHAN

Né en 1979 à Porto-Novo au Bénin, Rafiy Okefolahan s'est d’abord formé auprès d’artistes béninois, puis il a suivi une formation à l’École nationale des Arts de Dakar. Artiste pluridisciplinaire et quasiment autodidacte, il réalise des peintures, des dessins et des installations. La couleur est pour lui un moyen d’expression. Ses oeuvres sont ancrées dans la réalité et souvent en lien avec l’actualité. Son travail se nourrit également de ses interventions dans des écoles.

Partition de formes et de couleurs, ses tableaux sont peuplés de visages, de symboles et de signes exprimant « le bruit du monde ». Il essaie à travers eux de lutter contre l’oubli et de cicatriser les blessures. Artiste engagé, il aborde à travers l’art des problématiques socio-économiques et identitaires comme la question des déplacements de populations, les inégalités et la corruption. Ses oeuvres mêlent divers matériaux comme le marc de café ou la rouille, empruntés à la tradition voodoo, les pigments bruts, l’encre de chine et la peinture à l’huile. La puissance de la couleur et le relief des toiles créent une esthétique intense afin de redonner une place centrale à l’humain. 

Accordant une importance toute particulière au dialogue des disciplines, il a aussi collaboré avec des danseurs contemporains dans le cadre de divers manifestations comme la Biennale de Dakar, le Festival Vaudou de Strasbourg et à la Cité internationale des Arts. Ces dernières années son travail s’oriente vers l’installation, afin de travailler la couleur en 3 dimension. Cette réflexion l’habite depuis de nombreuses années, il a notamment réalisé des installations au Centre (Bénin) en 2015 et à Dakar, pendant le Off de la Biennale en 2008. Installation ou peinture, sa recherche artistique reste celle d’un coloriste humaniste.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif