TICKSON MBUYI

Tickson Mbuyi, Congolese artist born in 1988, is a ceramist by training. He trained at the Academy of Fine Arts in Kinshasa with the desire to give pride of place to this "art of fragility". The work of the earth allowed him to develop a whole series of works around the mask and its symbolism both traditional and modern.

A multidisciplinary artist, Tickson Mbuyi also practices performance. He has participated several times in the International Meetings of Performing Artists KINACT, notably with his costume of "the Man Capotes". Made of condoms, this costume is designed to cover the entire body of the artist as a protective envelope. Tickson Mbuyi thus invites the people of Kinshasa to reflect on their relationship to sexuality and to protect themselves. Raising questions related to issues of domination of the body of women, foreigners, the Other in general, the performances of Tickson Mbuyi in public space are invitations to reconnect and to overcome the violence of social relationships.

Tickson Mbuyi's works have already been presented internationally at the Museum of Modest Arts in Setes and in Brighton in England. His costume also appears in clips from Baloji, Youssoupha or the group KOKOKO !.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif

TICKSON MBUYI

Tickson Mbuyi, artiste congolais né en 1988, est céramiste de formation. Il s'est formé à l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Kinshasa avec la volonté de remettre à l'honneur cet "art de la fragilité". Le travail de la terre lui a permis de développer toute une série d'oeuvre autour du masque et de sa symbolique tant traditionnelle que moderne.

Artiste pluridisciplinaire, Tickson Mbuyi pratique également la perfomance. Il a participé à plusieurs reprises aux Rencontres internatinoales d'artistes performeurs KINACT, notamment avec son costume de "l'Homme Capotes". Constitué de préservatifs, ce costume est conçu pour recouvrir l'intégralité du corps de l'artiste comme une enveloppe protectrice. Tickson Mbuyi invite ainsi la population kinoise à réfléchir sur son rapport à la sexualité et à se protéger. Soulevant des questionnements liés aux enjeux de domination du corps des femmes, des étrangers, de l'Autre en général, les performances de Tickson Mbuyi dans l'espace public sont des invitations à nous reconnecter et à dépasser la violence des rapports sociaux.

Les oeuvres de Tickson Mbuyi ont déjà été présentées à l'international au Musée des Arts Modestes à Sètes et à Brighton en Angleterre. Son costume apparaît églament dans les clips de Baloji, Youssoupha ou encore du groupe KOKOKO!.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif