CATALINA COVACEVICH

Born in Mexico in 1993 into a Chilean family, Catalina Covacevich is a visual artist trained in philosophy and the visual arts. She works in Sao Paulo, mainly in the fields of painting, collage, performance, and installation.

 

Multidisciplinary artist, she appropriates different practices to reflect on various current and personal subjects. Through collage, she creates a game where pieces of universes found by chance come together to tell a story in a different context. Photography and performance, considered by the artist as more intimate mediums, allow him to address contemporary issues such as migration and the relationship between body and mind. Painting is for her a more intuitive process. Inspired by the study of prehistoric art and the forms and symbols found in caves and stones, she lets herself be carried away by the material to create textures, colors, sensations.

Always intrigued by the things we carry across borders, she develops an artistic reflection on what we keep with us when leaving our country. For her, what we don't forget is what defines us culturally.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif

CATALINA COVACEVICH

Née à Mexico en 1993 dans une famille chilienne, Catalina Covacevich est une artiste plasticienne formée en philosophie et en arts visuels. Elle travaille à Sao Paulo, principalement dans les domaines de peinture, collage, performance et installation.

 

Artiste multidisciplinaire, elle s'approprie des différentes pratiques pour réfléchir sur divers sujets actuels et personnels. À travers le collage, elle crée un jeu où des morceaux d’univers trouvés par hasard s’assemblent pour raconter une histoire dans un contexte différent. La photographie et la performance, considérées par l'artiste comme des médiums plus intimistes, lui permettent de s'adresser à des questions contemporaines telles que la migration et la relation entre le corps et l'esprit. La peinture est pour elle un processus plus intuitif. Inspirée de l'étude de l'art préhistorique et des formes et symboles retrouvés dans les cavernes et les pierres, elle se laisse emporter par la matière pour créer des textures, des couleurs, des sensations.

Depuis toujours intriguée par les choses que nous portons au-delà des frontières, elle développe une réflexion artistique sur ce que nous gardons avec nous au moment de quitter notre pays. Pour elle, ce que nous ne laissons pas tomber à l'oubli nous définit culturellement. 

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif