ANDREA HERNÁNDEZ BRICEÑO

Born in Florida (United States) and raised in Caracas (Venezuela), Andrea Hernández is a photojournalist who develops her practice within socio-cultural exchanges between countries. After graduating in journalism from the Catholic University Andrés Bello, she worked for El Estímulo, a local Internet media. Specializing in multimedia publications, she obtained a grant from the Gabriel García Márquez Foundation in 2017. In 2018, she completed the Documentary Practice and Visual Journalism Program at the International Center of Photography in New York. In this context, she was selected for the Lucie Foundation Emerging Artist grant, she participated in the XXXI Eddie Adams Workshop, and was selected as a Female Photographer of the class for 2018-2019.

As soon as she returns home in August 2018, she begins her personal project "Homecoming". His return to Caracas triggers feelings of concern about the social reality of his country. Andrea Hernández decides to cross Venezuela and observe the physical changes in nature, due among other things to pollution, and the mental transformations undergone by the population. She encountered an upheaval in the collective psyche. However, through "Homecoming", the photographer decides to also show the flashes of hope. The difficulties the country is going through, but also the will to move forward. The dignity behind the efforts.

 

Originally a journalist, Andrea Hernández turned to photography because words were not enough for him. She couldn't bring up what she wanted, finding her true speech in a more visual medium. She considers the image her ideal tool for this situation: to communicate her meetings and her experiences. During the development of his work, the word continues to be essential. She interviews her subjects, then synthesizes everything in the form of a photographic series.

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif

ANDREA HERNANDEZ

Née à Floride (États-Unis) et grandi à Caracas (Venezuela), Andrea Hernández est une photojournaliste qui développe sa pratique au sein des échanges socio-culturels entre pays. Après son diplôme en journalisme de l'Université Catholique Andrés Bello, elle a travaillé pour El Estímulo, un média Internet local. Spécialisée dans les publications multimédias, elle obtient une subvention de la Fondation Gabriel García Márquez en 2017. En 2018, elle termine le Programme de Pratique Documentaire et de Journalisme Visuel au Centre international de la Photographie à New York. Dans ce cadre, elle est sélectionnée pour la bourse de la Lucie Foundation Emerging Artist, elle participe à l'atelier XXXI Eddie Adams, et est sélectionnée Femme Photographe de la classe de 2018-2019.

Dès qu'elle rentre chez elle en août 2018, elle commence son projet personnel "Homecoming". Son retour à Caracas déclenche des sentiments d'inquiétude face à la réalité sociale de son pays. Andrea Hernández décide de traverser le Venezuela et observer les changements physiques de la nature, dus entre autres à la pollution, et les transformations mentales subies par la population. Elle rencontre un bouleversement de la psyché collective. Cependant, à travers "Homecoming", la photographe décide de montrer également les éclairs d'espoir. Les difficultés que traverse le pays, mais aussi la volonté d'aller de l'avant. La dignité derrière les efforts. 

Journaliste à l'origine, Andrea Hernández se tourne vers la photographie parceque les mots ne lui suffisent pas. Elle n'arrivait pas à évoquer ce qu'elle voulait, trouvant son véritable discours dans un médium plus visuel. Elle considère l'image son outil idéal pour cette situation : communiquer ses rencontres et ses expériences. Lors du développement de son travail, le mot continue à être essentiel. Elle interviewe ses sujets, pour ensuite tout synthétiser sous la forme d'une série photographique. 

© 2018 par WASANII YA LEO. Créé avec Wix.com

logo wyl couleur.png
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Noir LinkedIn Icône

25 rue Émile Zola, 94800, Villejuif